XXXIII.—Proceedings at the Anniversary Meeting of the British Ornithologists' Union, 1897.

The Annual General Meeting of the British Ornithologists' Union was held at the rooms of the Zoological Society of London, 3 Hanover Square (by permission of the Council of that Society), on Wednesday, the 5th of April, at 6 P.M., Mr. P. L. Sclater, M.A., Ph.D., F.R.S., in the Chair. The Minutes of the last Annual Meeting having been read and confirmed, the Report of the Committee was read, which stated as follows:—

"Amongst the losses by death since the last Anniversary we have to record that of our President, Lord Lilford, an original Member of the Union, who had held the office for 19 years. Besides this three other Ordinary Members have died, viz. Arthur Dowsett, Esq., Sir Edward Newton, K.C.M.G., and Hugh Neville, Esq. One Member has withdrawn, viz. Sir T. D. Gibson Carmichael, Bart., and two have been removed under Rule VI., viz. D. S. W. Nicholl, Esq., and W. C. Shaw, Esq.

"The number of the Members of the Union is now 314, consisting of 283 Ordinary, 1 Extraordinary, 10 Honorary, and 20 Foreign Members.

"There are 24 Candidates for the Ordinary Membership.

"The General Index for the last three series of 'The Ibis' has been completed and will shortly be ready for distribution."

The accounts for the year 1896 were then presented by the Secretary, and approved of by the Meeting.

The following Candidates were then balloted for and declared to be duly elected Ordinary Members:—

The Rev. Hubert D. Astley, F.Z.S., Chequers Court, Tring.

John Benson, Holly How, Coniston.

William Berry, B.A., LL.B., Tayfield, Newport, Fife.

The Hon. Ivo F. Bligh, Southfields Grange, Wandsworth, S.W.

The Rev. Horatius N. Bonar, Free Church Manse, Salton, Pencaitland, E. Lothian. Henry A. Bryden, Gore Park Road, Eastbourne.

Alfred J. Cholmley, F.Z.S., Place Newton, Rillington, Yorkshire.

E. N. Fenwick-Fenwick, Oxford and Cambridge Club, S.W.

J. Nigel Gurney, Sprowston Hall, Norwich.

Henry B. Hewetson, F.Z.S., 11 Hanover Square, Leeds. The Rev. John E. Kelsall, East Boldre, Beaulieu, Hants.

The Rt. Hon. Lord Lilford, F.Z.S., Lilford Hall, Oundle.

George E. Lodge, F.Z.S., 5 Verulam Buildings, Gray's Inn, W.C.

John C. McLean, Waikohu, Poverty Bay, New Zealand. Col. Edward S. Mason, 20 Minster Yard, Lincoln.

Daniel Meinertzhagen, Mottisfont Abbey, Romsev.

William Mitchell, 16 Grosvenor Street, W.

Henry Munt, 83 Kensington Gardens Square, W.

Oscar Neumann, 10 Potsdamer Strasse, Berlin, W.

Capt. Eric Streatfield, Gordon Highlanders, Aldershot.

Charles Whymper, 50 Berners Street, W.

Allan R. Wilson, Wadham College, Oxford.

Harry F. Witherby, Heathfield, Eliot Place, Blackheath. John J. B. Young, M.A., Richmond Park, near Sheffield.

Mr. F. Du Cane Godman, F.R.S., was elected President, and Mr. Osbert Salvin, M.A., F.R.S., was elected Secretary of the Union for the ensuing year, and Mr. A. H. Evans, M.A., F.Z.S., and Dr. R. Bowdler Sharpe, F.L.S., F.Z.S., were elected into the Committee in the place of Lt.-Col. L. H. Irby, who retired by rotation, and Osbert Salvin, Esq., M.A., F.R.S., who had become Secretary.

It was agreed that the Committee appointed at the last Meeting to consider Mr. Selater's plan for a new Synopsis of Birds should be reappointed, with power to add to their number.

After a vote of thanks to the Chairman, the Meeting adjourned.

The Annual Dinner, subsequently held at Limmer's Hotel, was attended by 36 Members and guests.